Translated from French

## **Democratic Republic of the Congo**

Law delimiting the maritime areas of the Democratic Republic of the Congo

Kinshasa 2009

#### **Statement of reasons**

The United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea of 10 December 1982, ratified by the Democratic Republic of the Congo, at that time the Republic of Zaire, by decree-law No. 88/036 of 28 September 1988, enshrines the fundamental right of every coastal State to the following maritime areas: internal waters, territorial sea, contiguous zone, exclusive economic zone and continental shelf.

The coastal State either exercises its sovereignty, or has sovereign rights over, the areas concerned, notwithstanding other established rights enjoyed by all States, whether coastal States or otherwise over the high seas, or the Area, the common heritage of mankind, which are more or less international.

The Democratic Republic of the Congo, which has a coastline of about 40 kilometres, has never fully determined its maritime borders.

Law No. 74-009 of 10 July 1974 established the outer limit of the territorial sea of the Republic of Zaire at 12 nautical miles.

However, that law did not specify the points used for drawing the lateral borders and did not delimit the contiguous zone or the exclusive economic zone, and still less the continental shelf. It merely established the guidelines that should

- The chart of the sea coast from Sierra Leone to Luanda, on a scale of 1/3,500,000, published by SHOM, 1987, updated for the production of chart INT 209 published by the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, 986th edition;
- The chart of the Bay of Loango at Rio Lucunga on a scale of 1/300,000 at latitude 6°00', No. 8, edition of January 2008, published by the Admiralty;
- The chart showing the mouth of the River Congo, Admiralty edition of May 2008, WGS 84.

The Caris Lots software approved by the United Nations for the digitalization and calculation of the baselines and boundaries of maritime areas of any coastal country was also used.

Such is the overall scope of the present law.

# Law No. 09/002 of 7 May 2009 delimiting the maritime areas of the Democratic Republic of the Congo

After adoption by the National Assembly and the Senate:

The President of the Republic promulgates the law, the substance of which is as follows:

#### Article 1

The present law delimits the maritime areas of the Democratic Republic of the Congo in accordance with article 9, paragraph 1, of the Constitution and the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea of 10 December 1982.

#### Article 2

The baseline from which the breadth of those areas is measured is the lowwater line along the Congolese coast of geodetic points 1 to 22 and a straight line between the latter point and point 23.

The baseline is oriented north-north-west/south-south-west (NNW-SSE) and east-south-south/south (ESS-S).

It is established by straight lines linking the geodetic points defined by the following geographical coordinates:

#### Article 3

The lateral northern limit from point 1 of the baseline perpendicular to the general direction of the coast is oriented north-east-east/south-west-west (NEE-SWW).

It is established by a geodetic line linking points 1, 42, 43 and 57 defined by the following geographical coordinates:

Number	Latitude	Longitude
1	5°46 22,83703 S	12°12 09,11244 E
42	5°50 00,74050 S	12°00 41,73422 E
43	5°53 35,89325 S	11°49 11,98231 E
57	6°46 11,53265 S	9°00 26,36735 E

#### Article 4

The lateral southern limit from point 23 of the baseline perpendicular to the general direction of the coast is oriented north-east-east/south-west-west (NEE-SWW).

It is established by a geodetic line linking points 23, 24, 56 and 65 defined by the following geographical coordinates:

Number	Latitude	Longitude
23	6°03 10,56013 S	12°21 46,47991 E
24	6°06 45,70692 S	12°10 16,45161 E
56	6°10 20,85377 S	11°58 46,34202 E
65	7°03 54,18242 S	9°06 49,49873 E

#### Article 5

The territorial sea shall extend as far as an outer limit established at 12 nautical miles from the baseline.

That limit is established by a line linking the geodetic points having the following geographical coordinates:

Number	Latitude	Longitude
24	6°06 45,70692 S	12°10 16,45161 E
25	6°05 28,47982 S	12°09 56,99873 E
26	6°03 48,29394 S	12°09 44,74822 E

Number	Latitude	Longitude
27	6°02 38,44878 S	12°09 40,56988 E
28	6°01 55,79015 S	12°08 54,09596 E
29	6°00 59,50730 S	12°08 03,50061 E
30	6°00 11,98787 S	12°07 25,55409 E
31	5°59 13,06509 S	12°06 38,34043 E
32	5°58 07,55616 S	12°05 51,65516 E
33	5°57 21,07433 S	12°05 09,43275 E
34	5°56 36,90295 S	12°04 31,07165 E
35	5°55 57,33750 S	12°03 59,48207 E
36	5°55 05,94436 S	12°03 22,89311 E
37	5°54 33,64593 S	12°03 03,13133 E
38	5°53 55,76296 S	12°02 42,68671 E
39	5°53 26,52405 S	12°02 24,21745 E
40	5°52 15,33785 S	12°01 39,23929 E
41	5°50 55,59324 S	12°01 01,29277 E
42	5°50 00,74050 S	12°00 41,73422 E

### Article 6

The contiguous zone shall extend to a distance of 12 nautical miles from the outer limit of the territorial sea.

The outer limit of that zone is established by a line linking the geodetic	points
having the following geographical coordinates:	

Number	Latitude	Longitude
43	5°53 35,89325 S	11°49 11,98231 E
44	5°55 49,62129 S	11°50 00,90308 E
45	5°57 21,18014 S	11°50 43,47504 E
46	5°58 27,77309 S	11°51 19,53561 E
47	5°59 53,45669 S	11°52 12,94362 E
48	6°00 56,85425 S	11°52 49,97155 E
49	6°02 00,77056 S	11°53 30,59253 E
50	6°03 22,51427 S	11°54 29,84535 E
51	6°04 37,50871 S	11°55 30,59392 E
52	6°05 34,27339 S	11°56 20,70153 E
53	6°06 18,05817 S	11°56 53,47796 E
54	6°07 52,31287 S	11°58 07,97279 E
55	6°09 00,10436 S	11°58 23,73506 E
56	6°10 20,85377 S	11°58 46,34202 E

Article 7