No. 450 Rafael Correa Delgado Constitutional President of the Republic

Considering

That article 4 of the Constitution of the Republic of Ecuador establishes that the territory [of Ecuador] includes the continental and maritime space, the nearby islands, the territorial sea, the Galapagos Archipelago, the soil, the continental shelf, the subsoil and the overlying continental, island and maritime space, and that its boundaries are those established in the treaties in force;

That point II^1 of the Declaration on the maritime zone of 18 August 1952, signed by the Republics of Ecuador, Chile and Peru, establishes exclusive sovereignty and jurisdiction to a distance of 200 nautical miles from their coast;

That article 1 of the Agreement on the Special Maritime Border Zone of 4 December 1954, signed by the Republics of Ecuador, Peru and Chile, established a special zone at a distance of 12 nautical miles from the coast, extending to a breadth of 10 nautical miles on either side of the parallel which constitutes a maritime boundary between the two countries; 21/03/2011 1326.11D