Twenty-five years of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea of 10 December 1982

Institutional framework - Meeting of States Parties

Introduction

UNCLOS provides, in article 319, paragraph 2 (e), that the Secretary-General "shall convene necessary meetings of States Parties in accordance with this Convention".

First Meeting of States Parties

The first Meeting of States Parties (SPLOS) was convened in New York on 21 and 22 November 1994, immediately following the entry into force, on 16 November 1994, of the Convention.

Meetings of States Parties

As at 2007, there have been 17
Meetings of the States Parties to the
Convention. The Division for Ocean
Affairs and the Law of the Sea, Office
of Legal Affairs, provides secretariat
services to the Meetings.

Meeting of States Parties - agenda

Matters related to ITLOS:

Reports of ITLOS to the Meeting of States Parties;

Election of members of ITLOS;

Budgetary matters of ITLOS (draft budget, scale of assessments, Performance Reports, Reports of the External Auditors, Pension Fund, etc.)

Consideration of the Financial Regulations of ITLOS.

Meeting of States Parties – agenda (cont.)

Matters related to CLCS

Election of 21 members of CLCS;

Information reported by the Chairman of the Commission;

Issues with respect to article 4 of annex II to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea;

Other issues as submitted by CLCS, e.g., workload of the Commission;

Meeting of States Parties – agenda (cont.)

Information on the activities of the International Seabed Authority; Report of the Secretary-General under

Tameler Which are Seif the

Election of 21 members of the Commission

On 14 and 15 June 2007, in seventh rounds of balloting, the Meeting elected 21 members of the Commission:

Alexandre Tagore Medeiros de Albuquerque (Brazil), Osvaldo Pedro Astiz (Argentina), Lawrence Folajimi Awosika (Nigeria), Harald Brekke (Norway), Galo Carrera Hurtado (Mexico), Francis L. Charles (Trinidad and Tobago), Peter F. Croker (Ireland), Indurlall Fagoonee (Mauritius), Mihai Silviu German (Romania), Abu Bakar Jaafar (Malaysia), George Jaoshvili (Georgia), Emmanuel Kalngui (Cameroon), Yuri Borisovitch Kazmin (Russian Federation), Wenzheng Lu (China), Isaac Owusu Oduro (Ghana), Yong-ahn Park (Republic of Korea), Fernando Manuel Maia Pimentel (Portugal), Sivaramakrishnan Rajan (India), Michael Anselme Marc Rosette (Seychelles), Philip Alexander Symonds (Australia) and Kensaku Tamaki (Japan).

Seventeenth Meeting of States Parties - outcome

SPLOS/161 - Decision on the surrender of savings by the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea;

<u>SPLOS/162</u> - Decision on issues related to the workload of the Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf;

SPLOS/163 - Decision on the allocation of seats on the Commission and the Tribunal; SPLOS/164 & SPLOS/164/Corr.1 - Report of the seventeenth Meeting of States Parties.

Report of the Secretary-General under article 319 of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea

