Summary of official meetings

Monday, 10 December 2018

General Assembly

Intergovernmental Conference to Adopt the Global Compact for Safe, Orderly and Regular Migration

[archived video]

1st plenary meeting Opening of the Conference [item 1]

The Secretary-General of the United Nations declared open the Intergovernmental Conference to Adopt the Global Compact for Safe, Orderly and Regular Migration, in his capacity as temporary President in accordance with rule 17 of the provisional rules of procedure.

Election of the President [item 2]

The Conference thus concluded this stage of its consideration of agenda item 5.

Statement by the host country

On the proposal of its President, the Conference decided to hear an address by His Excellency Saad-Eddine El Othmani, Head of Government of the Kingdom of Morocco, in which he delivered a message from His Majesty Mohammed VI, King of Morocco, on behalf of the host country.

 $Outcome\ of\ the\ Conference\ ($

European Union and His Excellency Teodoro Locsin, Secretary for Foreign Affairs of the Philippines.

The Committee also heard a statement by His Excellency Moussa Faki Mahamat, Chairperson of the African Union Commission.

[archived video]

2nd plenary meeting

General debate [item 8] (continued)

The Conference continued its consideration of agenda item 8.

The Conference heard statements by Her Excellency Retno Lestari Priansari Marsudi, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Indonesia; Her Excellency Sandra Erica Jovel Polanco, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Guatemala; His Excellency Basilio Monteiro, Minister of Interior of Mozambique; Her Excellency Heléne, Fritzon, Minister for Migration and Deputy Minister for Justice of Sweden; His Excellency Carlos Holmes Trujillo García, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Colombia; His Excellency Rimbink Pato, Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade of Papua New Guinea; His Excellency Stephen Kampyongo, Minister of Home Affairs of Zambia; His Excellency Gebran Bassil, Minister for Foreign Affairs and Emigrants of Lebanon; His Excellency Nicola Renzi, Minister for Foreign and Political Affairs and Justice of San Marino; His Excellency Richard Sezibera, Minister for Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation of Rwanda; His Excellency Kai Mykkänen, Minister of the Interior of Finland; His Excellency Jean Asselborn, Minister for Foreign and European Affairs and Minister of Immigration and Asylum of Luxembourg; His Excellency Charles Flanagan, Minister for Justice and Equality of Ireland; Her Excellency María Dolores Aguero Lara, Minister for Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation of Honduras; His Excellency Yousuf Mohammed Fakhroo, Minister of Administrative Development, Labour and Social Affairs of Qatar; His Excellency Marcelo Ebrard Casaubón, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Mexico; His Excellency Fernando Elíseo Freire, Minister of State, Parliamentary Affairs and the Presidency of the Council of Ministers of Cabo Verde; His Excellency Carmelo Abela, Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade Promotion of Malta; His Excellency Ally

Cwele, Minister of Home Affairs of South Africa; His Excellency Mevludin