procedure of the Assembly and rules 40 and 61 of the provisional rules of procedure of the Council, four members of the Court for a nine-year term of office beginning on 6 February 2018 to fill the vacancies occurring on the expiration of the terms of office of Mr. Ronny Abraham (France), Mr.

(Lebanon) and Mr. Abdulqawi Ahmed Yusuf (Somalia) were elected as members of the Court for a nine-year term of office beginning on 6 February 2018.

The General Assembly, at its 57th plenary meeting, on 20 November 2017, and the Security Council, at its 8110th meeting, on the same date, continued independently of one another to elect one member of the Court to fill the remaining vacancy.

Having obtained the required absolute majority of votes in both the General Assembly and the Security Council, Mr. Dalveer Bhandari (India) was elected as a member of the Court for a nine-year term of office beginning on 6 February 2018.

As a result, as of 6 February 2018, the International Court of Justice is composed as follows: Mr. Ronny ABRAHAM (*France*),\*\*\* Mr. Mohamed BENNOUNA (*Morocco*),\*\* Mr. Dalveer BHANDARI (*India*),\*\*\* Mr. Antônio Augusto CAN¢ADO TRINDADE (*B* 

HYASSAT (Jordan),\* Mr. Marcel JULLIER (Switzerland),\*\* Mr. Mahesh KUMAR (India),\*\* Ms. Julia A. MACIEL GONZÁLEZ (Paraguay),\*\*\* Mr. Olivier MYARD (France),\*\* Mr. Carlos RUIZ MASSIEU (Mexico),\*\* Mr. Babou SENE (Senegal),\* Mr. Tesfa Alem SEYOUM (Eritrea),\* Mr. Cihan TERZI (Turkey),\*\*\* Mr. David TRAYSTMAN (United States of America)\*\*\* and Mr. YE Xuenong (China).\*\*

 <sup>\*</sup> Term of office expires on 31 December 2018.

<sup>\*\*</sup> Term of office expires on 31 December 2019.

<sup>\*\*\*</sup> Term of office expires on 31 December 2020.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> A/72/566, para. 6.

Decisions

HERMOSILLO