Special high-level meeting of the ECOSOC with the Bretton Woods institutions and WTO

14 April 2003

PROGRAMME

9:30 a.m. Opening and introduction by **Mr. Gert Rosenthal**, President of ECOSOC

Statement by Mr. Kofi Annan, Secretary-General of the United Nations

Panel (Moderated by the President of ECOSOC)

Presentations by inter-governmental representatives (5-7 minutes each);

Mr. Jan Kavan, President of the fifty-seventh session of the United Nations General Assembly
Mr. Trevor Manuel, Chairperson of the Development Committee, Minister of Finance of South Africa
Ms. Heidemarie Wieczorek-Zeul, Minister for Economic Cooperation and Development of Germany
Ms. Mary Whelan, Chairperson of the Trade Policy Review Body of the World Trade Organization
Mr. Fouad Siniora, Chairperson of the Group of 24, Minister of Finance of Lebanon

Presentations by institutional representatives

IMF(Mr. Eduardo Aninat, Deputy Managing-Director)World Bank(Mr. Shengman Zhang, Managing Director)WTO(Mr. Francisco Thompson-Flores, Deputy-Director General)

11:00 a.m. Breakup into four round tables

11:15 a.m. Reconvene in four round tables in smaller Conference Rooms (5, 6, 7 and 8) for dialogue on the same overall theme in an informal setting

(No introductory or written statements; interventions not to exceed 3 minutes; free exchange of views; no speakers' list).

- Roundtable 1: Conference Room 6
- Chairperson: Mr. Trevor Manuel, Chairperson of the Development Committee, and Minister of Finance of South Africa

Co-chairperson: Ms. Louise Fréchette, Deputy Secretary-General, of the United Nations

Roundtable 2: Conference Room 7

Chairperson: **Ms. Hilde Frafjord Johnson**, Minister of International Development of Norway Co-chairperson: **Mr. Francisco Thompson-Flores**, Deputy-Director General of WTO

Roundtable 3: Conference Room 5

Chairperson: Ms. Mary Whelan, Chairperson of the Trade Policy Review Body of the WTO Co-chairperson: Mr. Shengman Zhang, Managing Director of the World Bank Group

Roundtable 4: Conference Room 8

Chairperson: **Mr. Fathallah Oualalou**, Minister of Finance of Morocco Co-chairperson: **Mr. Eduardo Aninat**, Deputy Managing-Director of the International Monetary Fund

- 1:10 p.m. Chairpersons conclude the round tables
- 1:15-2:45 p.m. Luncheon hosted by the President of ECOSOC, to be held in the Delegates Dining Room, (Private Dining Room 6-7-8, 4th floor of the Conference Building)

Informal Lunch-table discussions

- 3:00 p.m. Reconvene in ECOSOC Chamber
- 3:00-3:20 p.m. Reports from the four Chairs of the round tables (5 minutes each)
- 3:20-3:30 p.m. Statements by NGO and business representatives (5 minutes each)
- 3:30-4:55 p.m. Exchange of views among participants
- 4:50-5:00 p.m. Concluding comments and closing of the meeting by **Mr. Gert Rosenthal**, President of ECOSOC