

PRESS RELEASE

New Generation of Partnerships for Most Vulnerable States as World Leaders Gather

Doha, 5 March 2023 - Three years after the world began its epic struggle against COVID-19, world leaders are gathering in Doha, Qatar, to deliver on a historic new compact to support the countries whose vulnerabilities it most exposed.

Since the onset of the pandemic, the 46 countries in the east Developed Country (LDC) category have suffered through inadequate pandemic-fighting resources and spiraling debt, sending their development progress backwards.

Developed Countries are being stranded amidst a rising tide of crisis, debt, climate chaos and deep global said United Nations Secretary-General, António Guterres. The Fifth Conference on the Least Developed Countries is an opportunity for the world to step up. Countries with the least need support the

At the Fifth United Nations Conference on the Least Developed Countries (LDC5) in Doha from March 5-9, Heads of State and Government are gathering to ensure are placed back at the top of the global agenda.

Leaders will agree on plans to deliver the Doha Programme of Action, a ten-year commitment for renewed and strengthened partnerships between the Least Developed Countries and developed nations, as well as the private sector and civil society.

For six days from 4 to 9 March there will be a slew of bold announcements, new partnerships and concrete commitments to deliver on the promise of the DPoA. Together with the Secretary-General of the United Nations, world leaders will usher in a new period of solidarity for the most vulnerable member states.

LDC populations have experienced a sharp decline in living standards and increasing inequality, while their current account balances have come under additional pressure from rising external debt payments and soaring international energy and food prices.

Additional information:

- The Doha Programme of Action can be found on the LDC5 website here.
- The LDCs are: Afghanistan; Angola; Bangladesh; Benin; Bhutan; Burkina Faso; Burundi; Cambodia; Central African Republic; Chad; Comoros; Democratic Republic of the Congo; Djibouti; Eritrea; Ethiopia; Gambia; Guinea; Guinea-Bissau; Haiti; Kiribati;

Mauritania; Mozambique; Myanmar; Nepal; Niger; Rwanda; Sao Tome and Principe; Senegal; Sierra Leone; Solomon Islands; Somalia; South Sudan; Sudan; Timor-Leste; Togo; Tuvalu; Uganda; United Republic of Tanzania; Yemen and Zambia. Vanuatu was the latest country to graduate from the category in late 2020.

• To learn m